Brijesh Patel elected chairman of selection committee

Published: Friday, September 20, 2002, 0:40 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Calcutta: Former Test batsman Brijesh Patel was on Thursday elected chairman of India's revamped cricket selection committee that includes four new faces including Member of Parliament Kirti Azad.

Patel, himself a first-time selector, replaces Chandu Borde following the annual elections of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Jagmohan Dalmiya, meanwhile, was unanimously re-elected BCCI president for another year, while Karunakaran Nair took over as secretary from Niranjan Shah. Patel, a dashing batsman who played 21 Tests in the 1970s, will be joined by three ex-internationals - Azad, Kiran More and Pranab Roy - and former first class cricketer Sanjay Jagdale in the new five-man selection panel. Jagdale is the only surviving member of the previous committee after erstwhile colleagues Madan Lal, Ashok Malhotra and Shivlal Yadav were ousted in the elections. Azad, a member of India's World Cup winning squad in 1983, played seven Tests before retiring five years later to pursue a career in politics. He is a sitting Member of Parliament belonging to the ruling Hindu nationalist party, the Bhartiya Janata party (BJP). More was India's wicket-keeper for 49 Tests till 1983 while Roy, son of former opener Pankaj Roy, played two Tests on a tour of England in 1982. India is the only Test-playing nation where selectors are elected by the general body. Each of the five cricketing zones in the country is represented by one selector. The BCCI is India's richest sports body with estimated assets worth more than $ 50 million.

Dalmiya elected unopposed; Nair is new secy

Write Comments