Bangla team leaves for SA, four new faces included

Published: Wednesday, September 25, 2002, 2:36 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhaka: The Bangladesh squad, fresh from a disastrous trip to the ICC Champion Trophy in Sri Lanka, left on Tuesday for its month-long tour of South Africa where it will play two Tests and three Limited Over matches.

Four newly included players - batsmen Sanwar Hossain, Hannan Sarkar, Rafiqul Islam and bowler Anwar Hossain - will join the rest of the team in Dubai on its way to South Africa for its second tour beginning September 27 since 2000. Skipper and wicket-keeper Khaled Mashud along with his team left Colombo for Dubai, cricket officials said. In its last encounter in Colombo on Monday, New Zealand dismissed Bangladesh for its second-lowest total of 77 to post a 167-run win in an inconsequential match. The three dropped from Champion Trophy squad are teenager Mohammad Ashraful, off spinner Fahim Muntasir and middle-order batsman Mazharul Haque. Since gaining Test status in June 2000, Bangladesh has lost 12 of the 13 Tests it played. The lone match it drew was a rain-marred Test last year against Zimbabwe. Bangladesh: Khaled Mashud (captain), Habibul Bashar, Al-Shahriar, Tushar Imran, Khaled Mahmud, Manjurul Islam, Talha Jubair, Mohammad Rafique, Tapas Baishya, Alok Kapali, Javed Omar, Hannan Sarkar, Sanwar Hossain, Rafiqul Islam, Anwar Hossain.

Fleming not too pleased with win over Bangladesh
Bond blasts Bangladesh, Kiwis win by 167 runs

Write Comments