Sri Lanka wins toss, opts to bat in replayed final

Published: Monday, September 30, 2002, 20:47 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Sri Lankan skipper Sanath Jayasuriya elected to bat after winning the toss against India in the replayed day-night final of the Champions Trophy tournament at the Premadasa Stadium here on Monday. India and Sri Lanka made one change from the sides that were involved in the rain- hit final on Sunday. Sri Lanka included leg spinner Upul Chandana in place of seamer Pulasthi Gunaratne, while India replaced fast bowler Javagal Srinath with leg spinner Anil Kumble.

Sri Lanka: Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara, Aravinda de Silva, Mahela Jayawardene, Russel Arnold, Kumar Dharmasena, Dilhara Fernando, Muthiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas and Upul Chandana. India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble and Zaheer Khan. Umpires: David Shepherd (England) and Steve Bucknor (West Indies) TV umpire: Daryl Harper (Australia) Match-referee: Clive Lloyd (West Indies)

Abandoned ICC Trophy final to be replayed on Monday

Write Comments