Australia names 12-man squad for two One-day matches

Published: Monday, December 2, 2002, 18:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney: Australian cricket selectors on Monday named a veteran squad for the opening two matches of the triangular One-day series against England and Sri Lanka beginning this month. Ricky Ponting was chosen to captain the 12-man team, which dropped only two players from the 14-member squad that played the ICC Champions Trophy in September - Jimmy Maher and Nathan Hauritz. "We have only picked 12 players in the VB Series squad because there is a week-long gap between our second and third matches and that gap gives us the opportunity to re- assess our options as the series moves forward," chief selector Trevor Hohns said. The triangular series begins with matches between Australia and England at the Sydney Cricket Ground on December 13 and the Melbourne Cricket Ground two days later. Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Michael Bevan, Andrew Bichel, Jason Gillespie, Matthew Hayden, Brett Lee, Darren Lehmann, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne, Shane Watson.

No berth for Waugh in Aussie World Cup squad
Aussies thrash Eng by an innings yet again, win Ashes

Write Comments