McLean given second chance, aims for final frontier

Published: Tuesday, December 3, 2002, 17:07 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

St. John's (Antigua): West Indies fast bowler Nixon McLean was on Monday handed the chance to resurrect his international career when he was named in the 30-man provisional squad for next year's World Cup. The 29-year-old, who has played 44 Limited Overs Internationals, has a record of 309 runs at an average of 12.36 and has taken 46 wickets at 36.76 apiece. But his international career appeared to have ended after playing in the home series against South Africa in 2001. The West Indies squad will be reduced to 15 by December 31 - the deadline given by the International Cricket Council (ICC) ahead of the tournament which takes place in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya from February 9-March 23.

The West Indies, currently on tour in Bangladesh, will depart for the World Cup on January 28 following a two-week training camp in Antigua. McLean is one of five players in the squad who haven't played for the national side in the last year - the others are left-handed batsman Floyd Reifer, left-arm spin bowler Neil McGarrell as well as fast bowlers Reon King and Kerry Jeremy. The selection panel chaired by Viv Richards also announced four new names. Left-handed opening batsman Devon Smith, left-handed all-rounder Ian Bradshaw, left- arm spin bowler Sulieman Benn, and wicket-keeper Keith Hibbert head them. As expected, Brian Lara has been named in the squad. The left-handed batting maestro has recovered from the illness that struck him down during the ICC Trophy in Sri Lanka in September.

Squad: Sulieman Benn, Marlon Black, Ian Bradshaw, Gareth Breese, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Cameron Cuffy, Mervyn Dillon, Vasbert Drakes, Daren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Keith Hibbert, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Carl Hooper, Ridley Jacobs, Kerry Jeremy, Reon King, Brian Lara, Jermaine Lawson, Neil McGarrell, Nixon McLean, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Daren Powell, Ricardo Powell, Floyd Reifer, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith


Write Comments