WC 2003 - Kumble in Harbhajan out; Younis wins toss, opts to bat

Published: Saturday, March 1, 2003, 18:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Centurion (South Africa): Pakistan captain Waqar Younis won the toss and elected to bat against India in the World Cup Group 'A' match at SuperSport Park on Saturday.Both India and Pakistan opted to play leg spinners against each other. India brought in Anil Kumble for off spinner Harbhajan Singh, while Pakistan also preferred leg spinning, all-rounder Shahid Afridi to star off spinner Saqlain Mushtaq.

Pakistan: Waqar Younis (captain), Saeed Anwar, Taufeeq Umar, Younis Khan, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Wasim Akram, Rashid Latif and Shoaib Akhtar.

India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Mohammed Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Mongia, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra.

Umpires: David Shepherd (England) and Rudi Koertzen (South Africa).

TV umpire: Billy Bowden (New Zealand).

Match referee: Mike Procter (South Africa).Copyright AFP 2001

Write Comments