NSW crowned Sheffield Shield champion

Published: Sunday, March 16, 2003, 21:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Brisbane: New South Wales, skippered by Steve Waugh, claimed Australia's Sheffield Shield cricket title with a 246-run thrashing of Queensland in the final at the Gabba on Sunday. NSW won the scheduled five-day final inside three days, dismissing Queensland for 215 in its second innings and completing the domestic One-day and first-class double for the season. Test leg spinner Stuart MacGill finished with eight match wickets while Simon Katich was named player-of-the-match for scores of 82 and 36. Katich also took two wickets as Queensland struggled after being set 463 runs to win its fourth consecutive title. Lee Carseldine top scored with 65 while teenager Nick Kruger made 34 on his first- class debut. It was the Blues' first Shield victory in nine years, cashing in on the experience of Steve and Mark Waugh, MacGill and Michael Slater. NSW had finished last in the previous two seasons while Queensland had won the last three Shield finals. Copyright AFP 2001

MacGill bowls NSW into commanding position

Write Comments