WC 2003 - Indian skipper wins toss, decides to bat

Published: Thursday, March 20, 2003, 23:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Durban: India captain Saurav Ganguly won the toss and elected to bat in the day-night World Cup semi-final against Kenya at Kingsmead on Thursday.The winners will face defending champion Australia in Sunday's final in Johannesburg. Earlier in the tournament India beat Kenya by six wickets in a Super Six match in Cape Town on March 7.

The teams: India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Mohammed Kaif, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Mongia, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra.

Kenya: Steve Tikolo (captain), Kennedy Otieno, Ravindu Shah, David Obuya, Maurice Odumbe, Hitesh Modi, Thomas Odoyo, Collins Obuya, Martin Suji, Peter Ongondo and Asif Karim.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (West Indies) and Daryl Harper (Australia)

TV umpire: Simon Taufel (Austrlia)

Match referee: Mike Procter Copyright AFP 2001

Write Comments