WC 2003 - India wins toss and elects to field in World Cup final

Published: Sunday, March 23, 2003, 19:07 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg: India captain Saurav Ganguly won the toss and elected to field against Australia in the World Cup final at the Wanderers on Sunday.Damien Martyn (finger) and Andy Bichel (sore shoulder) of Australia were both passed fit. India wicket-keeper Rahul Dravid, who had a finger injury, was also given the all clear.Australia, the defending champion, is bidding to become the first team to win three World Cups and go into the match on the back of a world record 16 consecutive One-day victories.This is its third consecutive World Cup final it lost to Sri Lanka in 1996 and beat Pakistan four years ago -- and fifth overall. India is in only its second World Cup final ever having won the trophy in its one previous appearance back in 1983.Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Darren Lehmann, Michael Bevan, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, Andy Bichel, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath.India: Saurav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Rahul Dravid, Dinesh Mongia, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Javagal Srinath.Umpires: David Shepherd (England) and Steve Bucknor TV umpire: Rudi KoertzenMatch referee: Ranjan MadugalleCopyright AFP 2001


Write Comments