Srinath will be considered provided he is fit: BCCI

Published: Tuesday, August 5, 2003, 22:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: All the members of India's World Cup squad and the India 'A' team who toured England have been included in the 36-member list of probables for the upcoming home series against New Zealand. The list of probables, however, does not include pace spearhead Javagal Srinath, who has made himself unavailable for the camp and the subsequent challenger series to be held in Bangalore from September 10-14. "Srinath has made himself unavailable as he was undergoing treatment for the injury sustained during his stint with English county Durham," Board secretary S K Nair told reporters here on Tuesday. Nair said, "Srinath has made himself unavailable as he is undergoing treatment for the injury sustained during his stint with English county Durham."

Nair, however, said Srinath was not ruled out of the New Zealand series and "may be considered" provided he is fit. He also said three teams would be selected from among the probables to play the challenger series in Bangalore from September 10-14. A 15-member Rest of India squad would also be selected from the probables to play Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai in the Irani Trophy match to be held in Chennai from September 18 to 22.

Nair clarified that those players who have been named in the list but were playing for some minor counties, should inform the Board if they wanted to be exempted from the first leg of the camp. Coach John Wright, Physio Andrew Leipus and trainer Gregory Allen King would join the camp for the second leg, he said.

Following is the list of probables: Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Anil Kumble, Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Parthiv Patel, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Sanjay Bangar, Shiv Sunder Das, Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Satyajit Parab, Hemang Badani, S Sriram, Rohan Gavaskar, Vijay Bharadwaj, Murali Kartik, Amit Mishra, L Balaji, Aavishkar Salvi, Irfan Pathan (Jr), Mithun Manhas, Ajay Ratra, Thilak Naidu, V V S Laxman, Sairaj Bahutule, Ramesh Powar, J P Yadav, A T Rayudu, Reetinder Singh Sodhi, Sarandeep Singh, Sidharth Trivedi and Amit Bhandari.

Write Comments