India elects to bat first in Ahmedabad Test

Published: Wednesday, October 8, 2003, 17:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ahmedabad: India skipper Sourav Ganguly elected to bat after winning the toss against New Zealand in the opening Test at the Sardar Patel Stadium at Ahmedabad on Wednesday. New Zealand left out batsman Richard Jones, and pacemen Ian Butler and Michael Mason from their playing eleven in the first match of the two-Test series. The second Test starts at Mohali on Oct 16. Indian opener Akash Chopra and seamer Laxmipathy Balaji are making their Test debuts.

New Zealand: Stephen Fleming (capt), Mark Richardson, Lou Vincent, Nathan Astle, Scott Styris, Craig McMillan, Jacob Oram, Robbie Hart, Daniel Vettori, Daryl Tuffey, Paul Wiseman.

India: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Virender Sehwag, Akash Chopra, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Venkatsai Laxman, Parthiv Patel, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Laxmipathy Balaji.

Umpires: David Shepherd (ENG) and Rudi Koertzen (RSA). TV umpire: I. Sivaram Match-referee: Ranjan Madugalle

Write Comments