India opts to bat after winning the toss

Published: Sunday, October 26, 2003, 21:01 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Gwalior: Indian captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat in the second One-day International of the triangular series against Australia on Sunday.

India retained the same team that played against New Zealand in the first One-dayer in Chennai, which was abandoned due to rain. Australia left out paceman Michael Kasprowicz, all-rounder Jimmy Maher and batsman Michael Clarke from the 14-member squad. Teams India: Rahul Dravid (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mohd Kaif, Parthiv Patel, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Hemang Badani, L Balaji, Murali Kartik.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Michael Bevan, Andy Bichel, Nathan Bracken, Ian Harvey, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Brad Williams. Umpires: Neil Mallander (Eng) and K Hariharan (Ind). Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).

Write Comments