ICC Champions Trophy venues announced

Published: Saturday, November 8, 2003, 18:02 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London : The International Cricket Council's Champions Trophy will be played at The Oval, Edgbaston and Hampshire's Rosebowl, it was announced. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and the International Cricket Council (ICC) said the 15-match tournament will be held September 10-25, with rain days scheduled for all matches. Teams will be seeded for the tournament on the basis of their official ICC One-Day International ranking on December 1, 2003. ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed said: "The ICC is very pleased that the ECB will be hosting this showpiece tournament next year. Using the official ODI ratings is the fairest way to seed teams. This system ensures that all teams are treated in an equal manner as it provides an objective assessment of form over the last two to three years." The Champions Trophy's format is supposed to showcase the talents of the world's leading One-day cricketers and will be contested by the 10 ICC Full Member countries and Kenya plus the winner of the ICC Six Nations Challenge, to be held in the United Arab Emirates in March 2004. Competing teams will be divided into four groups of three, with the winners of each group progressing to straight knockout semi-finals and the final. Copyright AFP 2001

Windies sign Host Agreement with ICC

Write Comments