Australia bats first after winning the toss

Published: Wednesday, November 12, 2003, 20:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: Australian captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat in the day-night cricket tri-series match against India here on Wednesday. India, bolstered by the return of skipper Sourav Ganguly, made four changes to the team that lost to New Zealand at Cuttack leaving out Hemang Badani, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar and Sairaj Bahutule while including Ashish Nehra Anil Kumble and Virender Sehwag. Australia chose their best team to warm up for the final recalling Matthew Hayden, Brad Williams and wicketkeeper batsman Adam Gilchrist. Making way for the trio were Jimmy Maher, Nathan Bracken and Brad Hogg.

Teams: India: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Murali Kartik.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Michael Bevan, Ian Harvey, Andy Bichel, Brad Williams, Michael Kasprowicz, Michael Clarke.

Umpires: Neil Mallendar (Eng), A V Jayprakash (Ind). Third Umpire: K Hariharan (Ind). Match-referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Write Comments