Australia elects to bat after winning the toss

Published: Tuesday, November 18, 2003, 20:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata: Australian captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat in the cricket tri-series final against India at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday.

Indian captain Sourav Ganguly had to pull out of the summit clash after he failed a fitness test. Rahul Dravid will lead the side that has three changes from the team that won against New Zealand on Saturday.

Harbhajan Singh was brought in place of Anil Kumble while Hemang Badani replaced Ganguly. Mohammad Kaif's place in the side was given to speedster Avishkar Salvi. Australia made just one change bringing in Nathan Bracken for Michael Kasprowicz.

Teams: India: Rahul Dravid (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, V V S Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Murali Kartik, Hemang Badani, Avishkar Salvi.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Michael Bevan, Ian Harvey, Andy Bichel, Brad Williams, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke.

Umpires: A V Jayaprakash (Ind) and D Shepherd (Eng) Third umpire: K Hariharan Fourth umpire: K G Lakshminarayanan. Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Write Comments