Thatscricket - News - Karnataka crush Orissa by 10 wickets

Published: Tuesday, February 3, 2004, 2:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Home -> News -> Report

Karnataka crush Orissa by 10 wickets
Monday, February 2 2004 20:54 Hrs (IST)

Cuttack:The Karnataka Senior women's team registered an emphatic 10 wicket victory over host Orissa at the turf grounds, Cuttack.

Orissa won the toss and elected to bat on a green top. The Karnataka medium pacers Mamatha Maben and left-hander Pooja Shah were very happy to bowl first. Athmaja Samson also got into the act with all three picking up two wickets apiece.

Sunitha Vasudevan picked up the last three wickets and Orissa were shot out for a paltry 59.

Opener Hema Malini did not waste much time getting a quick 39 not out with 5 fours. Sindhu remained not out on 14. Thus, Karnataka registered a big win and entered the quarter-finals of the 30th Senior National women's cricket championship. Hema Malini was declared the Eve of the Match.

Earlier, the Chief Minister of Orissa, Mr Naveen Patnaik inaugurated the tournament that is being held in Orissa for the first time.

Scores: Orissa 59 all out (Mamatha Maben 2 for 20, Pooja Shah 2 for 18 , Athmaja Samson 2 for 1 and Sunitha Vasudevan 3 for 6 ) lost to Karnataka 61 for no loss (Hema Malini 39 not out, Sindhu A 14 not out) by 10 wickets.

In the other pre-quarters, West Bengal defeated Maharashtra by a comfortable margin of 55 runs at the Sunshine cricket ground.

Batting first, West Bengal were dismissed for a paltry 136 all out in 44.1 overs. Payal Deb 30 not out, Ananya Mitra 19, Arpita Ghosh 25 and Beas Sarkar 23 were the main contributors while off-spinner Chandramani Kamble bowled 10 good overs picking up three for 18 and was well supported by Ashwini Binniwale who got 2 for 32.

West Bengal bowlers were equal to the task and dismissed the Maharashtra girls for 81off 35.5 overs. Only Anagha Deshpande with 25 and Ashwini Binniwala with 19 offered any resistance. Left-arm spinner Mithu Poll with 3 for 17 off 8.5 overs was the pick of the West Bengal bowlers. Off-Spinner Manasi got 2 for 14. Payal Deb was declared Eve of the Match.

Brief Scores: West Bengal 136 all out in 44.1 overs (Payal Deb 30 not out, Ananya Mitra 19, Arpita Ghosh 25, Beas Sarkar 23, C Kamble 3 for 18 and Ashwini Binniwale 2 for 32) beat Maharashtra 81 all out in 35.5 overs (Anagha Deshpande 25, Ashwini Binniwale 19, Mithu Poll 3 for 17 and Manasi 2 for 14 ) by 55 runs.

In the last match of the day, Delhi defeated Madhya Pradesh by 8 wickets and set up a quarter-final clash with the fancied Air India outfit on the morrow.

Delhi won the toss and decided to field at the Nimpur Turf. Madhya Pradesh started very well with the openers Ketaki Pitamber ( 23, 5 fours ) and Bharathi Verma ( 19, 3 fours ) putting on 49 for the opening stand. Both batswomen threw their wickets playing too many shots too early in the innings.

Though one drop Rajeshwari Goyal played sensibly to score a fifty, she did not have enough support. Worst was that five of their batswomen were run out trying to steal non existent runs in an attempt to give strike to Rajeshwari.

India opening bowler Amitha Sharma picked up 2 for 44 from 9 while medium pacer Vandana was very impressive with 3 for 30 from 10 overs on a good batting track.

In reply, Delhi skipper Rajani Sharma and Eve of the Match Vandana started briskly and laid a firm foundation. Once Rajani was out, Asha Rawat joined Vandana and this pair put on a solid 99 runs stand for the second wicket to take the game away from Madhya Pradesh. Asha remained not on 52 with 5 fours while Vandana was out for a brilliant 82 inclusive of 9 well struck fours.

Scores: Madhya Pradesh 177 all out in 44.1 overs (Rajeshwary Goyal 53, Ketaki Pitamber 23, Bharti Verma19, Revathi Joshi 18, Vandana 3 for 30, Amitha Sharma 2 for 44) lost to Delhi 179 for 2 in 40.2 overs (Vandana 82, Asha Rawat 52 not out, Rajani Sharma 19) by 8 wickets.

13 teams in the fray for Senior National's

Write Comments