Thatscricket - News - Karnataka makes it to the last four

Published: Thursday, February 5, 2004, 18:06 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Home -> News -> Report

Karnataka makes it to the last four
Thursday, February 5 2004 12:36 Hrs (IST)

Cuttack:Karnataka defeated West Bengal by a comfortable margin of eight wickets in the quarter-finals of the 30th Senior National women's championship played at the Bose Turf, Cuttack.

West Bengal won the toss and elected to bat. They got off to a brisk start with Mamatha Maben conceding twenty runs off two overs. However, left-arm medium pacer Pooja Shah bowled her inswingers superbly and picked up three wickets conceding just 17 runs off her quota of 10 overs.

On the other end, leg-spinner Deepika Babu got the ball to turn viciously and flighted the ball tantalisingly to capture four West Bengal wickets. Through some good fielding by the Karnataka girls, there were three run outs and West Bengal folded up for 130 runs off 44.5 overs. Beas Sarkar with 49 from 105 balls, Arpita Ghosh's 19 and Payal Deb with 18 were the top scorers for Bengal.

Karnataka were never in trouble as Hema Malini continued to dominate the bowling. While she scored 39 not out in the previous game, she scored a well-struck 65 not out (81 balls) inclusive of eleven sizzling boundaries. She put on 53 runs with Sindhu for the first wicket and added 51 for the second with Roopa who contributed 22 from 48 balls. Mamatha remained not out on eight. Hema Malini was declared the Eve of the Match for the second time in succession.

With this win Karnataka have entered the semi finals of this prestigious tournament and will meet the formidable Air India at the Nimpur grounds on Thursday.

Scores: West Bengal 130 all out in 44.5 overs (Beas Sarkar 49, Arpita Ghosh 19, Payal Deb 18, Pooja Shah 3 for 17 and Deepika Babu 4 for 33) lost to Karnataka 132 for 2 in 31.2 overs (Hema Malini 65 not out, Roopa B N 22)by 8 wickets.

In the other match at the Sunshine grounds, Tamil Nadu got the better of UP thanks to some good bowling by off-spinner Kritika who bowled four overs - four maidens and picked up 4 wickets. UP were dismissed for a pathetic 65 with only Prajitha 28 and Neetu 14 scoring.

Tamil Nadu also struggled losing 4 wickets before passing the required score. Amsavalli was the top scorer with 10. Tamil Nadu meet Indian Railways in the semi-finals.

Meanwhile, at the Nimpur Turf, Indian Railways defeated Mumbai by 119 runs. Batting first, the star studded Railways scored 205 for five from the allotted 50 overs thanks mainly to India opener Jaya Sharma ( 62, 98 balls, 6 fours) Sulakhshana Naik ( 47 not out, 46 balls, 4 fours ), Deepa Kulkarni 34 not out ( 37 balls, 4 fours ) and Hemalatha Kala 25 ( 40 balls, 2 fours).

Mumbai never ever attempted to chase opting for batting practice. They ended at 86 for two from 50 overs.

Air India enters semi-finals

Write Comments