Thatscricket - News - Hema Malini keeps Air India at bay

Published: Friday, February 6, 2004, 23:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Home -> News -> Report

Hema Malini keeps Air India at bay
Friday, February 6 2004 18:04 Hrs (IST)

Cuttack:Opening bat Hema Malini continued her good showing in the Senior National women's cricket Championship at Cuttack. In the two-day semi finals at the Nimpur Turf, Hema dominated the star studded Air India attack to score 67 with the help of 10 fours.

Hema's effort helped Karnataka reach a respectable 209 all out in 88.5 overs thereby keeping Air India side on the field the whole day.

Karnataka lost Sindhu in the third over of the day to a good outswinger from India opening bowler Jhulan Goswamy caught in the slips by former India captain Purnima Rau for just two.

Hema got good support from Roopa and put on a valuable 78 runs before Roopa was caught in the slips by Anjum Chopra off Mamta Kishen for 29 that included four boundaries.

Skipper Mamatha Maben did not last long and was castled by Patkar for 14. Deepika Babu struck a run a ball 26 and was clean bowled by Jhulan.

Karnataka lower order frustrated the Air India bowlers to an extent that skipper Anjum Chopra used eight bowlers. The ninth wicket pair of Jyothi Bollamma (25 not out, 4 fours) and southpaw Pooja Shah batted for 18 overs adding 41 priceless runs.

Medium pacer Jhulan was the pick of the bowlers returning with figures of four for 20 from 19 overs. Veteran off-spinner Purnima Rau picked up two for five from four overs.

Scores: Karnataka 209 all out in 88.5 overs (Hema Malini 67, Roopa BN 29, Deepika Babu 26, Jyothi Bollamma 25 not out, Jhulan Gosamy 4 for 20 and Purnima Rau 2 for 5).

In the other semi-finals at the Bose ground, Tamil Nadu scored 199 for nine in the allotted 90 overs thanks mainly to a fine 63 off 161 balls by Kritika and 42 not out from 151 balls by Vijaylaksmi. Amsavalli 36 and Manjula 21 were the others who scored for Tamil Nadu.

Left-arm spinners Neetu David (28- 11- 57 - 3) and Deepa Kulkarni (19- 7- 50- 3) were the successful bowlers.Chasing 200 from 90 overs, Indian Railways were 15 for no loss with Monica Sumra on 10 and Jaya Sharma on one.

Karnataka makes it to the last four

Write Comments