Thatscricket - News - Buoyant India 'A' takes on England 'A'

Published: Sunday, February 8, 2004, 20:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Home -> News -> Report

Buoyant India 'A' takes on England 'A'
Sunday, February 8 2004 15:01 Hrs (IST)

Bangalore:India 'A' side packed with experienced players would play against England 'A' on a confident note in the first One-day series match at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Monday.

The teams would play the second match on February 10. India led by leg- spinner Sairaj Bahutule has players who have Test cricket such as Dinesh Mongia, Gautam Gambhir and Ajay Ratra and draw from their experience.

The tie would also provide opportunity to youngsters like Sreekumar Nair from Kerala and Andhra Pradesh's Venugopala Rao getting exposure to international cricket to prove their talents.

India's coach Sandeep Patil told reporters after the practice session that , "we will not take England side lightly and our boys will play competitive game".

He said this kind of tours are good as youngsters would get lot of opportunity to play and added that England 'A' side is also good.

England, which lost both the warm up matches it played against Karnataka, will be taking on India with a determination to put up a good show.

England 'A' skipper Alex Gidman, who has suffered hand injury earlier to arrival in Bangalore will not be playing and also its bowler Simon Jones, recovering from an injury. The team's coach Rodney Marsh his boys were looking to play a better cricket. Jamesh Tredwell will be leading the England 'A' side on Monday.

The teams (from): India 'A': Sairaj Bahutule (Captain), Dinesh Mongia, Sridharan, Sriram Gautgam Gambhir, Ajay Ratra, Ramesh Powar, Munaf Patel, Jai Prakash Yadva, Tejinderpal Singh, Siddarth Trivedi, Y Venugoapal Rao, Mithun Manhas, Sreekumar Nair and Shib Shankar Paul.

England 'A': Jamesh Tredwell (Captain), Simon Freancis, Kadeer Ali, Shaftab Khalid, Michael Lumb, Sajid Mahmood, Graham Napier, Scott Newman, Kevin Pietersen, Matthew Prior, Bilal Shafayat, Ed Smith and Graham Wagg.

Hours of play: 9 hours to 12.30 and 13.15 to 16.45 hours. (IST).

Eng 'A' loses to K'taka in tour opener

Write Comments