Thatscricket - News - ICC keeps reserve days to reduce D/L's role

Published: Tuesday, February 10, 2004, 19:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:The International Cricket Council (ICC) hopes to minimize the role of the Duckworth-Lewis rain rule by announcing reserve days for all matches at this year's Champions Trophy in England.

"There are reserve days for all matches. This means there will be no Duckworth-Lewis recalculations (used to decide rain-affected matches) on the first scheduled match day," the ICC said in a statement on Tuesday.

"If a match cannot be completed on the scheduled day, play will continue into the following day where recalculations can be made if required," it added.

Rain played a spoilsport in the 2002 Champions Trophy in Sri Lanka where only the final match had a reserve day, but without any provision to continue the game next day.

Only one innings was completed in the final between India and Sri Lanka on the first day, but the teams started afresh the next day only to be thwarted by rain again. They were eventually declared joint-winners.

The 12-team tournament, regarded as the mini World Cup, opens, ironically, with a match between England and Zimbabwe on September 10 at Edgbaston.

England, who, boycotted their 2003 World Cup game in Zimbabwe, appear reluctant to tour that country for a Test series later this year.

In another mouth-watering clash at the same venue, archrivals India will meet with Pakistan on September 19.

The teams have been divided into four groups, with the group winners qualifying for the semi-finals.

World champions Australia have been placed in Group A along with New Zealand and a qualifer to be decided after a six-nation tournament in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, this month.

Canada, Holland, Namibia, Scotland, the UAE and the United States will contest the Sharjah qualifiers.

The Champions Trophy will be played at three venues in England - Edgbaston in Birmingham, the Oval in London and the Rosebowl in Southampton.

The final will be held at the Oval on September 25.

Champions Trophy groupings:

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, qualifer.

Group B: South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh

Group C: Pakistan, India, Kenya

Group D: Sri Lanka, England, Zimbabwe


Sept 10: England v Zimbabwe at Edgbaston; New Zealand v qualifer at the Oval

Sept 11: India v Kenya at Rosebowl

Sept 12: South Africa v Bangladesh at Edgbaston

Sept 13: Australia v qualifer at Rosebowl

Sept 14: Pakistan v Kenya at Edgbaston; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at the Oval

Sept 15: West Indies v Bangladesh at Rosebowl

Sept 16: Australia v New Zealand at the Oval

Sept 17: Sri Lanka v England at Rosebowl

Sept 18: South Africa v West Indies at the Oval

Sept 19: India v Pakistan at Edgbaston

Sept 21: First semi-final at Edgbaston (Group A winners v Group D winners)

Sept 22: Second semi-final at Rosebowl (Group B winners v Group C winners)

Sept 25: Final at the Oval

ICC announces Champions Trophy fixtures

Write Comments