India wins the toss, elects to bat first

Published: Wednesday, April 7, 2004, 1:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Multan:Indian captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat in the first cricket Test against Pakistan in Multan on Sunday.

Dravid is leading India in the absence of Sourav Ganguly, who pulled out of the Test match due to a back injury.

Anil Kumble, who missed the One-day series due to injury, is the lone spinner in the Indian team that also includes three seamers -- Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan and L Balaji.

Yuvraj Singh took Ganguly's place in the side and Parthiv Patel is back as specialist wicketkeeper.

Pakistan are with four fast bowlers -- Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed and Abdul Razzaq -- besides spinner Saqlain Mushtaq.


India: Rahul Dravid (captain), Aakash Chopra, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Parthiv Patel, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, L Balaji.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Yasir Hameed, Taufiq Umer, Imran Farhat, Yousuf Youhana, Abdul Razzak, Moin Khan, Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir Ahmed, Mohammad Sami, Saqlain Mushtaq.

Umpires: David Shepherd and Simon Taufel. Third Umpire: Asad Rauf.

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Write Comments