India wins the toss, elects to field first

Published: Tuesday, April 13, 2004, 16:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rawalpindi: Indian captain Sourav Ganguly won the toss and elected to field in the third and final cricket Test against Pakistan in Rawalpindi on Tuesday.

India made two changes to their side which lost the second Test at Lahore by nine wickets with opener Aakash Chopra making way for Ganguly and left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra replacing Ajit Agarkar.

Pakistan replaced Lahore Test hero Umar Gul with rookie fast bowler Fazle Akbar for the series-deciding Test.

The three-match series is locked at 1-1.


India: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Parthiv Patel, Irfan Pathan, Anil Kumble, L Balaji, Ashish Nehra.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Taufiq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Danish Kaneria, Fazle Akbar.

Umpires: David Shepherd (ENG) and Rudi Koertzen (SA).

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Green-top may witness a cat and mouse game

Write Comments