Ireland to host 8th ICC trophy in 2005

Published: Saturday, May 1, 2004, 0:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London:The eighth International Cricket Council (ICC) Trophy, which will offer five places at the next World Cup in West Indies, will be held in Ireland next year.

The ICC President Ehsan Mani and ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed on Thursday signed the Host Agreement for the ICC Trophy 2005 in Ireland, with 12 teams in action, which will be centred around Belfast and Dublin in July 2005, the ICC said in a press release in London.

Mani said he was very pleased that the Irish Cricket Union (ICU) was planning to host matches in both centres.

"Throughout its history, the ICU has operated as a unified body and I am delighted that matches will be staged in both the north and south of the island," he said.

The ICC Trophy in 2005 will have more at stake for the 12 participating nations than ever before. There will be five places at the next ICC Cricket World Cup in the West Indies available to the competing teams.

This is two more than in 2003 and a clear reflection of both the ICC's commitment to spreading the game and the improved performance of the developing nations at the last ICC Cricket World Cup.

The ICC Trophy is part of an international tournament structure that provides a pathway to the elite level of competition for almost all of the ICC's 89 member countries.

This begins with regional tournaments taking place throughout 2004 and will climax with the ICC Cricket World Cup in the West Indies in 2007.

Write Comments