BCCI announces venues for Aus, SA home series

Published: Tuesday, July 20, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:India will host four Tests against Australia and two against South Africa this year, according to a programme released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in New Delhi.

Australia, who arrive in India soon after the Champions Trophy in England in September, begin a five-week tour with a three-day match against the Board president's XI at Hyderabad from September 30 to October 2.

The first two back-to-back Tests will be played at Bangalore (October 6-10) and Chennai (October 14-18) before the Australians take a week's break.

This will be followed by the third and fourth Tests in quick succession at Nagpur (October 26-30) and Mumbai (November 3-7).

The last time Australia toured India, in 2001, the hosts defeated the world champions 2-1 in what was widely regarded as the best three-Test series of all time.

India, thrashed inside four days in the first Test in Bombay and trailing by 274 runs on the first innings in the second at Kolkata, engineered a remarkable comeback to win the series.

South Africa, who will arrive in India around November 10, will warm-up with a three-day game against India 'A' at Jaipur from November 14 to 16.

The two Tests will be played at Kanpur (November 20-24) and Kolkata (November 28-December 2).

Australia and South Africa will not play any one-day Internationals on these tours, BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya said .


Australia's tour

Sept 30-Oct 2: Vs Board president's XI, Hyderabad

October 6-10: First Test, Bangalore

October 14-18: Second Test, Chennai

October 26-30: Third Test, Nagpur

November 3-7: Fourth Test, Mumbai

South Africa tour

November 14-16: Vs India 'A', Jaipur

November 20-24: First Test, Kanpur

Nov 28-Dec 2 : Second Test, Kolkata

Write Comments