BCCI finalises Ranji Trophy groupings

Published: Thursday, July 22, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Former champions Railways, Delhi and reigning champions Mumbai are in Group-A along with five other teams for 2004-2005 Elite Ranji Trophy cricket tournament to be held at various venues from November 7.

Releasing the groupings after the Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) fixtures and programme committee meeting in Mumbai on Thursday, BCCI joint secretary Prof Ratnakar Shetty, said the other five teams in Group-A are Bengal, Karnataka, Gujarat, Andhra and Madhya Pradesh, which was promoted to Elite division this year along with Maharashtra. The seven teams in Group-B are Tamil Nadu, Hyderabad, Uttar Pradesh, Assam, Baroda, Maharashtra and Punjab while the Plate division has also been divided into two groups.

"Plate Division Group-A consists of Orissa, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Himachal Pradesh, Saurashtra and Bihar while Group-B consists of Haryana, Tripura, Goa, Services (SSCB), Vidarbha and Rajasthan, which has been demoted along with Kerala," he added.

Shetty also said that the One-day tournament to decide the national One-day champions would be held in January.

The groupings for the Under-19 (three-day) tournament to be played on Ranji Trophy format from this year was also finalised today (Thursday) with 15 teams in Elite and 12 teams in Plate division being divided into three groups in each division," Shetty said.

"In Elite division Delhi and Haryana are in Group-A along with Goa, Karnataka and Maharashtra while Group-B consists of Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Orissa, Mumbai and Rajasthan," he added.

Write Comments