Aussies refuse to speak to media on arrival

Published: Saturday, September 25, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Home -> News -> Report

Aussies refuse to speak to media on arrival
Saturday, September 25 2004 10:32 Hrs (IST)

Mumbai:Australian cricketers, who arrived here early today for the four-Test series against India, refused to speak to the media at the Chhatrapathi Shivaji International Airport insisting that they will do so only during the official press meet later in the day.

"There is an official press conference arranged later today and I will speak only during that time", acting captain and wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist told reporters at the airport.

Meanwhile, spin wizard Shane Warne, who reached here last night along with his teammate Cameron White after missing the connecting flight from Singapore, said "there is lots of time for interviews but not now".

A visibly tired looking leg spinner did not even entertain the autograph hunters.

However, the Aussie fast bowlers -- Glenn Mcgrath, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie and Michael Kasprowicz -- were in very good spirits despite a long journey via Dubai. They not only posed for photographs but also flashed victory sign before getting into the team bus.

Aussie coach John Bachanan too was in his elements and went around filming the cameramen at work and was the last man to get into the bus.

The Aussies play their first match against Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai here from September 30 to October two while the first Test against hosts will commence at Bangalore on October six.

Injured Australian skipper Ricky Ponting is expected to join the team for the second Test at Chennai. Among those who arrived today were Michael Clarke, Jason Gillespie, Matthew Hayden, Michael Kasprowicz, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Brett Lee and Shane Watson.

Simon Katich reached here on September 23 from Australia while Justin Langer and Nathan Hauritz arrived here yesterday. Middle order batsman Brad Hodge will be arriving only tomorrow while southpaw Darren Lehmann will be joining the team later.

The Team: Adam Gilchrist (capt), Michael Clarke, Jason Gillespie, Matthew Hayden, Nathan Hauritz, Simon Katich, Michael Kasprowicz, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Justin Langer, Brett Lee, Shane Warne, Shane Watson, Cameron White, Darren Lehmann and Brad Hodge.

Write Comments