Ranbir Singh Mahendra is the new president

Published: Wednesday, September 29, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata:After drama and suspense that rivalled a One-day International, the Dalmiya faction won in the end after a neck-to-neck race to the post of president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Ranbir Singh Mahendra won the elections with the help of a casting vote from Jagmohan Dalmiya. He will be the 27th president of BCCI.

Meanwhile, Sharad Pawar said he will contest the election result in court. He had earlier said he will not contest if the was not sure of a win.

He had alleged before the meeting that it was being adjourned deliberately because the Dalmiya confident was not confident about the numbers.

"They (Dalmiya coterie) are adjourning the meeting every two hours, which clearly indicates the Dalmiya camp was not confident about the numbers," Pawar had said.

To a query whether Pawar was contesting, the Maratha strongman had said the powers-that-be wouldn't have resorted to delaying tactics if a candidate had to be elected unanimously.

Along with Pawar several of his supporters also lost in the election to other posts like secretary and joint secretary.

Pawar contended that had a supporter of his representing the Maharashtra Cricket Association been allowed to vote, he would have won the election.

Gautam Dasgupta was elected joint secretary defeating Dr Ratnakar Shetty by 16-14 votes.

High drama marked proceedings throughout the day after the Madras High Court's Division bench stayed the appointment of retired Supreme Court Judge S Mohan from monitoring the election of president at the annual general meeting.

The meetings were repeatedly adjourned after Justice Mohan demanded a copy of the Division Bench's order and finally left the meeting hall when he was satisfied with the copy given to him.

When the meeting started, there were disputes over who should represent Maharashtra and Rajasthan Cricket Associations. The Pawar camp claimed that even in Rajasthan's case, their supporter was disqualified from voting.

In the election for other top posts, S K Nair was re-elected BCCI secretary defeating Niranjan Shah by 17-13 votes while Jyoti Bajpai was re-elected uncontested as treasurer.

Meanwhile the new BCCI president Ranbir Singh Mahendra today asserted that the elections of the Board was completely fair, but admitted that there was some cross voting from his group.

''I have always been confident that I will win. I am happy that I have the confidence of majority of members. However, I had expected to win by 4-5 votes. So definitely there was some cross-voting from our group,'' Mahendra, who defeated Maharashtra strongman and NCP supremo Sharad Pawar by a slender margin of one vote, said.

Mahendra, whose victory was ensured by a casting vote by outgoing president Jagmohan Dalmiya, claimed there was no foul play in the elections as alleged by Pawar.

''The election was completely fair. There was no foul play,'' the former vice-president said.

Asked about Pawar's allegation that Maharashtra's D Agashe, a Board member for 20 years, was deliberately not allowed to vote, Mahendra said ''I disagree with him.''

''There was nothing wrong in the election process. Everything was done as it was done during the past elections,'' the new president said as his attention was drawn to Pawar's remark that Dalmiya played the role of both the bowler and the umpire in the election.

Write Comments