Australians win toss, elect to bat

Published: Thursday, September 30, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:The visiting Australian team won the toss and elected to bat against Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai in the three-day tour opening cricket match that had a delayedstart here today due to overnight and early morning thunder showers.

The start of play was delayed by three and half hours because of a wet outfield. The rains had also affected the area adjacent to the pitch as water had seeped under the covers.

The umpires inspected the ground conditions at 11 am and then again at 1 pm before deciding to commence play at 1.40 pm after having a long discussion with captains of the two sides.

Play would be extended by one hour beyond the scheduled close (4.30 pm) to make up for loss of time.

The Australians left out Shane Warne, Shane Watson and Cameron White while Mumbai omitted Swapnil Hazare, Rohit Sharma and Santosh Shinde from the squad named for the tie.Teams:Australia: Adam Gilchrist (capt), Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Damien Martyn, Simon Katich, Brad Hodge, Michael Clarke, Jason Gillespie, Brett Lee, Nathan Huaritz and GlennMcGrath.Mumbai: Sairaj Bahutule (capt), Wasim Jaffer, Vinayak Mane, Vinod Kambli, Amol Muzumdar, Vinit Indulkar, Ramesh Powar, Ajit Agarkar, Vinayak Samant, Avishkar Salvi and Nilesh Kulkarni.

Write Comments