Bahutule to lead President~~s XI against SA

Published: Saturday, November 6, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Mumbai all-rounder Sairaj Bahutule would lead a 14-member Indian Cricket Board President's XI team in the three-day tour opener against the visiting South African team to be held at Jaipur from November 14-16.

The national selection committee, which chose the team here today, included Tamil Nadu opener Sadagopan Ramesh in the squad along with two openers who were in the Indian team for the fourth and final Test against Australia, Gautam Gambhir of Delhi and Dheeraj Jadhav of Maharashtra.

The left-handed Ramesh, whose career has nose-dived after a good start against the visiting Pakistan team in the late 1990s, had been out of contention since returning from India's tour of Australia last season where he could not force his way into the playing eleven.

Also back in national reckoning is Punjab batsman Dinesh Mongia who's been left in the cold after India's superb run in the 2003 World Cup in South Africa.

He has bounced back into contention on the strength of his successful stint in English county cricket and in last season's domestic circuit.

The selectors have included five pace bowlers - Amit Bhandari, Suresh Raina, Avishkar Salvi, Joginder Singh Sharma and Shiv Sunder Paul - in the squad. The wicket keeping duties have been given to Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

The Team: Gautam Gambhir, Dheeraj Jadhav, Sadagopan Ramesh, Hemang Badani (vice-captain), Venugopal Rao, Dinesh Mongia, Sairaj Bahutule (captain), Ramesh Powar, Shiv Sunder Paul, Amit Bhandari, M S Dhoni (wk), Suresh Raina, Avishkar Salvi and Joginder Singh Sharma.

Write Comments