Karnataka hope for a turn around against MP

Published: Wednesday, November 24, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:Faced with grim prospects in the current season, former champions Karnataka is hoping for a turn around in its sagging fortunes under its new skipper Sujit Somasundar in the four-day Elite Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match against Madhya Pradesh to be played at Chinnaswamy Stadium here from tomorrow.

Karnataka axed J Arun Kumar, who led the team hitherto and replaced him by Sujit after the team's pathetic performance against Bengal in the opener and Gujarat last week.

Karnataka has dropped Arun Kumar from the squad picked for playing against Madhya Pradesh, who had two points in their kitty after they drew with holders Mumbai.

With Karnataka making to the semi-finals from Elite A group looking a remote possibility, as they were yet to open their account, it is now eyeing to improve its performance at least in the coming matches against Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Mumbai and Delhi.

Sujit said his side was "good and talented" and would focus on batting, which has been worrisome so far.

He said Karnataka could have easily collected four points in its outing against Bengal and at least two points against Gujarat, but unfortunately failed to do it.

Karnataka would be depending on only their wicketkeeper- batsman Tilak Naidu, Sujit and Barrington to get them runs and bowler Sunil Joshi.

Madhya Pradesh, of course relied on its skipper Amay Khurasiya and Devendra Bundela, who bailed out the team in the match against Mumbai.


Karnataka: Sujit Somasundar (Capt), Robin Uthappa, Barrington M Rowland, V S Thilak Naidu (WK), R Vijay Bharadwaj, Stuart T Binny, C Raghu, Sunil B Joshi, D Ganesh, R Vinay Kumar, Udit B Patel, N C Aiyappa, Santosh K Vadeyaraj, Sudhindra P Shinde and Deepak A Chougule.

Madhya Pradesh: Amay Khurasiya (Capt), Naman Ojha (WK), Sachin Dholpure, Devendra Bundela, Abbas Ali, Brijesh Tomar, Nikhil Patwardhan, Sunil Dholpure, Narendra Hirwani, Yogesh Golwalker, Sanjay Pandey, Shantanu Pitre, Rahul Bakshi, Rishi Yengde and Jitendra Likhar.

Write Comments