Karnataka cull 2 points in drawn tie vs MP

Published: Sunday, November 28, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:Karnataka failed to fully capitalise on their dominance after they forced a follow onagainst Madhya Pradesh on the final day of their Ranji trophy Elite Group A encounter which ended in a draw here today.

The visitors, resuming from the overnight score of 296 for four, were bundled out at 422 in their first innings, and the hosts with a lead of 197 runs forced a follow on theMadhya Pradesh team hoping to snatch a victory.

Left hand batsman Abbas Ali (62) and Nikhil Patwardhan (89) showed initial resistance to the Karnataka bowling in the morning, but Ali fell soon caught behind by V S Tilak Naiduoff N C Aiyappa.

Patwardhan tried to stretch the Central team innings, but was caught at slip by Sujith Somasundar off Sunil Joshi at 89, that included 12 boundaries.

The tail enders kept the score board ticking before all of them were packed off at 422 half an hour past lunch. Brijesh Tomar was run out at 13, when wicket keeper Naidu removed the bails after a throw by Vijay Bharadwaj at mid on.

Santanu Pitre was caught at mid off by N C Aiyappa off C Raghu for five, while Sanjay Pandey (21) was caught by Raghu at backward square leg off Sunil Joshi. Narendra Hirwani was caught by Rowland Barrington (4) off N C Aiyappa.

Karnataka had to be only content with two points, their first score this Ranji season, after the match ended with Madhya Pradesh scoring 152 for six in their second innings.Buckling under pressure, Madhya Pradesh started their second innings on a bad note when opener Naman Ojha got out for a duck, his second in the match, caught behind by wicketkeeper V S Tilak Naidu off R Vinay Kumar.

Sachin Dholpure (52) and Brijesh Tomar (44) tried to salvage the Madhya Pradesh team, before Tomar got out to a LBW by Vinay Kumar. Dholpure, whose 52 included seven fours and a six, was dropped by Deepak Chougule at silly point off Sunil Joshi, before he returned the pavilion caught by Joshi at gully off Dodda Ganesh.

Abbas Ali was caught by Ganesh off N C Aiyappa for 37 runs while Devendra Bundela and Yogesh Golwankar were out without scoring a run. Bundela snicked the ball to Robin Uthappa at second slip for a catch off Vinay Kumar, while Golwalkar was bowled byAiyappa.

Nikhil Patwardhan and Captain Amay Khurasia with five runs each were at crease when the match was called off due to bad light. Karnataka gained two points, while MP who were 152 for six in the second innings returned home with a nought.

Write Comments