Railways force follow-on on Madhya Pradesh

Published: Wednesday, December 15, 2004, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Indore:Railways forced the hosts Madhya Pradesh to follow-on on the third day of four-day Ranji Trophy Elite group cricket match at Usharaje Ground here today.

Madhya Pradesh lost three wickets in their second innings at the score of 174, following a brilliant bowling from Kulmani Parida, who claimed five wickets in the first innings and one in the second.

Earlier, Railways bowled out MP at 207, gaining a crucial lead of 166 runs.

Off-spinner Parida weaved a web of spin among the MP batsman and claimed the wickets of Naman Ojha (67), Devendra Bundela (4), Nikhil Patwardhan (0), rahul bakshi (6), Jitendra Likhar (0), putting MP into trouble.

Except Abbas Ali (53), no other MP batsman contributed much and the entire team collapsed for 207 with Harvinder Singh claiming the wicket of Sanjay Pandey (1) and JP Yadav claiming the wickets of Sunil Dholpure (0) and Yogesh Golwalkar (5), forcing the team to follow-on.

In their second innings also, MP had a shaky start when it lost the wicket of opener Sachin Dholpure (00) in the first over itself off Santosh Saxena.

Later, Naman Ojha (61) and skipper Amay Khurasia (44) added 90 runs for the second wicket partnership to provide the much needed stability.

However, Khurasia was stumped by Siddharth Joshi in the 21st over, while Naman Ojha got run out of a throw from TP Singh, putting MP into trouble.

At the close of the day's play, Devendra Bundela (54) and Abbas Ali (6) were at the crease with MP scoring 174 for the loss of three wickets.

Write Comments