Lara to lead WI for Australia tri-series tourney

Published: Saturday, December 25, 2004, 23:25 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kingston:Champion left-handed batsman Brian Lara will lead West Indies in the forthcoming triangular One-day international series featuring hosts Australia and Pakistan in January.

The West Indian selectors named a 14-member squad for the tough tour following a sponsorship row with the players.

The West Indies cricket board said that though there were a number of issues still unresolved but a compromise had been arrived at much to the relief of one and all.

The West Indies squad leaves for Australia on December 29. The tri-series tournament begins on January 14 at the MCG.

West Indies squad: Brian Lara (captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (vice captain), Christopher Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Ryan Hinds, Courtney Browne, Ian Bradshaw, Pedro Collins, Mervyn Dillon, Reon King, Xavier Marshall.

Write Comments