Australian Under-19 female cricket tourney

Published: Tuesday, January 4, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:Reigning champions New South Wales would host the Australian under-19 female cricket championships kickstarting in Sydney from Wednesday.

According to a Cricket Australia release, the championships returns to New South Wales for the first time since 1998-99, when Orange hosted the tournament.

The host state have dominated the under-19 female championships in the competition's eight-year history, winning seven titles. It's winning run was briefly halted in 2002-03 when Queensland broke through to claim its first Betty Wilson Shield.

The eight-day tournament which continues till January 12, features six states in a five-round 50-over per side competition, with a final series to determine the championship winner.

The introduction of the under-18 championships and the subsequent expansion into the under-19 format, have been a great boost for upcoming players as a number of them have progressed from these championships to compete at the international level.

Australia's most recent debutant, Kate Blackwell, who made her one-day international debut on the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars' tour of India last month is a recent example of that.

In line with Cricket Australia's Spirit of Cricket initiative, a 'Spirit of Cricket' award will be presented to the team that best personifies the true spirit, traditions and values associated with cricket, the release added.

The Australian female under-17 Championships to be held in Perth from 19-26 January.

The fixture for the Australian female Under-19 Championships is:

Round 1: Wednesday, 5 January
New South Wales Vs QueenslandRaby 2
Victoria Vs Western AustraliaRaby 3
South Australia Vs TasmaniaMemorial Oval
Round 2: Thursday, 6 January
New South Wales Vs Western AustraliaRaby 1
Queensland Vs South AustraliaRaby 4
Victoria Vs TasmaniaBradbury Oval
Round 3: Friday, 7 January
New South Wales Vs TasmaniaBradbury Oval (TBC)
Victoria Vs South AustraliaRaby 3
Queensland Vs Western AustraliaRaby 2
Round 4: Sunday, 9 January
New South Wales Vs South AustraliaMemorial Oval
Queensland Vs VictoriaRaby 3
Western Australia Vs TasmaniaRaby 4
Round 5: Monday, 10 January
New South Wales Vs VictoriaRaby 2
Western Australia Vs South AustraliaRaby 4
Queensland Vs TasmaniaBradbury Oval
Finals: Wednesday, 12 January
1 Vs 2Raby 1
3 Vs 4Raby 2
5 Vs 6Raby 3

Write Comments