Star-strapped West and East clash in DeodharTrophy

Published: Saturday, January 22, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:West Zone sans stars like batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar and left-arm seamers Irfan Pathan and Zaheer Khan take on East Zone, without India skipper Sourav Ganguly, in the Deodhar Trophy inter-zonal Limited Overs cricket match at the Wankhede Stadium here tomorrow.

While Tendulkar and Pathan are recovering from tennis elbow and side strain respectively, both Ganguly and Zaheer Khan are not playing for personal reasons.

However, the West Zone team led by Ajit Agarkar has a slight edge over East captained by former India opener Devang Gandhi.

Agarkar would be looking up to his Mumbai teammates Vinayak Mane and Amol Muzumdar, Baroda's Satyajit Parab, Maharashtra's Dhiraj

Jadhav and Gujarat's Aakash Christian and Test discard stumper Parthiv Patel to put up a good total on bowler friendly Wankhede wicket.

With former Indian spinners Sairaj Bahutule and Ramesh Powar sidelined due to injury, former Mumbai left-arm spinner Rajesh Pawar, who now represents Baroda, is sure to get a look in along with Niraj Patel of Gujarat.

The new ball is likely to be shared by Baroda's Irfan Pathan (senior), Siddharth Trivedi of Gujarat and the skipper himself.

Former India stumper Chandrakant Pandit is the West Zone coach.

East Zone has as many as seven players from Bengal and six of them -- Gandhi, Rohan Gavaskar, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Sanjib Sanyal, Sourasish Lahiri and Shib Shankar Paul -- are likely to play in the eleven.

Write Comments