World XI wins toss and elects to bowl against New Zealand

Published: Monday, January 24, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Wellington:World XI captain Shane Warne won the toss and elected to bowl against New Zealand at Westpac Stadium here in the second of three one-day cricket matches organised to raise money for tsunami relief.

New Zealand brought in batsman Craig McMillan to replace Scott Styris while Former England batsman Nick Knight and Australians Andy Bichel and Matthew Elliott replaced Australia's Ian Harvey, Zimbabwean Heath Streak and former New Zealand batsman Craig Spearman.

Warne said after the toss that his side would aim to restrict New Zealand to 250 runs or less in the innings.

New Zealand won the first match of the series at a canter by nine wickets in Christchurch on Saturday after skipper Stephen Fleming hit a devastating 106 off just 57 balls. In just over 16 overs the Kiwis overhauled the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations World XI's meagre total of 158.

Sri Lankan star offspinner Muttiah Muralitharan bore the brunt of Fleming's assault -- which included nine sixes -- conceding 57 runs off just 19 balls. Warne, who is Muralitharan's rival for the title of most successful Test bowler in history, conceded 26 runs off his three overs.

New Zealand Cricket hopes to raise more than one million New Zealand dollars (670,000 US) for victims of the Asian tsunami last month. After the first match, the total had already passed 500,000 dollars.

New Zealand: Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Matthew Sinclair, Craig McMillan, Hamish Marshall, Chris Cairns, Brendon McCallum, Jeff Wilson, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Daryl Tuffey, Scott Styris (12th man)

World XI: Shane Warne (c), Nick Knight, Matthew Elliott, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Graeme Hick, Jonty Rhodes, Lance Klusener, Chaminda Vaas, Andy Bichel, Muttiah Muralitharan, Craig Spearman (12th man).

Write Comments