Padma Shri award for Anil Kumble

Published: Tuesday, January 25, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:Cine Star Shahrukh Khan, late National Security Advisor J N Dixit, cartoonist R K Laxman, Wipro Chairman Azim Premji, Vice Chairperson of Hindustan Times Shobhana Bhartia and social worker Gladys Staines are among the 96 people who have been conferred with this year's Padma awards.

The President approved names of nine persons for this year's Padma Vibushan awards which included Laxman, Dixit, Attorney General Milon Kumar Benerji, former Sadar-e-Riyasat of Jammu and Kashmir Karan Singh and noted social worker Mohan Dharia.

The other recipients of Padma Vibushan included Dr Bal Krishan Goyal for medicine, Bhai Mohan Singh for trade and industry, Dr M V S Valiathan for medicine and Ram Narayan for his contribution in the field of arts in Maharashtra.

As many as 30 people, including renowned dental surgeon Anil Kohli, former Jammu and Kashmir Governor Girish Chander Saxena, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Syed Mir Qassim and noted cardiologist Tarlochan Singh Kler were awarded the Padma Bhushan.

Famous playback singer Manna Dey and Wipro Chairman Azim Premji were awarded Padma Bhushan for their contribution in art and trade and industry respectively. Other recipients of Padma Bhushan award included former BBC Correspondent Mark Tully, noted film producer Yash Chopra and historians Irfan Habib and Romila Thapar.

Noted economist Mrinal Datta Chaudhuri, sociologist Andre Beteille and educationist Balraj Puri were among other 30 people who were conferred with Padma Bhushan.

Magsaysay award winner Chandi Prasad Bhatt and famous cardiologist from AIIMS K Srinath Reddy were also conferred with the honour.

Wife of slain Austrialian social worker Graham Staines, Gladys Staines, highest wicket-taker for India Anil Kumble, lone medallist in Olympic 2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, cinestar Shahrukh Khan and vice-chairperson of Hindustan Times Shobhana Bhartia and renowned Kashmiri singer Shameem Dev Azad were conferred with Padma Shri.

Sunita Narain, whose NGO created a stir by bringing to public knowledge the pesticide content in soft drinks, was also among the 57 people awarded Padma Shri.

Write Comments