South Zone take on East Zone tomorrow

Published: Friday, January 28, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ahmedabad:After facing a huge 180-run defeat at the hands of West Zone at Mumbai on January 26, South Zone will go all out for a win when they take on reigning champions East Zone in the Deodhar Trophy match to be played at Sardar Patel stadium at Motera on tomorrow.

East Zone has also lost its previous match to North Zone by seven wickets at Vadodara.

With four former India players in its ranks, South, led by Indian middle order bat V V S Laxman hold a slight edge over their rivals, led by former India batsman Devang Gandhi.

Laxman will be expecting big scores from his deputy S Sriram, Indian stumper Dinesh Karthik, Rowland Barrington, Y Venugopala Rao and S Vidhyuth while their bowling will be spearheaded by N C Aiyappa, former Indian seamer Tinu Yohanan and Srikumar Nair.

They also have players like Swapnil Asnodkar, S Badrinath, Arjun Yadav, R Jesuraj and Vishnuvardhan to pick from.

The East Zone will be banking heavely on the batting of opener-wicketkeeper M S Dhoni and other former India players S S Das, Rohan Gavaskar and L R Shukla.

Their bowling will be in the hands of S S Paul, Ranadeb Bose, Sanjib Sanyal, Sourashish Lahiri and Niranjan Behera.

Write Comments