ODI Championship table to form the basis of seedings

Published: Thursday, February 24, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London:The International Cricket Council (ICC) said that the official LG ICC ODI Championship table on April 1, 2005 would form the basis of seedings for the next World Cup to be played at eight venues in West Indies.

The 2007 World Cup will involve a record 16 teams that will be split initially into four groups of four. The top two teams from each of these groups will progress to the Super Eights stage from which four teams will qualify for the semi-finals.

Australia, England, India and West Indies were pre-seeded into separate groups in July 2004 to ensure that transport, accommodation and other logistical issues in West Indies could be effectively managed.

Subject to this pre-seeding, the 11 teams with current One-day International status will be seeded in the four groups according to their official position in the ODI Championship on April 1, the ICC said in a press release.

The seedings of the remaining five teams will be determined by their qualifying performances in the ICC Trophy in Ireland from July 1 to 13 this year.

ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed explained that, given the specific local challenges in holding One-day International cricket's premier event in the Caribbean, this process was the fairest way of grouping the teams.

"The LG ICC ODI Championship has proved to be a robust mechanism for rating teams since it was introduced in October 2002 so it is the obvious base from which to determine the seedings for the ICC cricket World Cup," Speed said.

Write Comments