Kapil, Qadir, Waqar to feature in veterans tie

Published: Thursday, March 10, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Silchar:As passion over the ongoing Indo-Pak series continues to rage the nation, Silchar, tucked away in the country's remotest North Eastern region, is readying itself for an international exhibition match involving veteran players of the two countries on March 13.

Called the Bharat Heavy Electrical Limited (BHEL) Cup, the former greats of the two sports crazy nations -- under the team names of Kapil Dev XI and Abdul Qadir XI -- would fight it out in the Satindra Mohan Dev stadium here.

Addressing a press conference here today, former cricker Karan Dubey, district sports association secretary Badal Dey and general secretary Babul Hore said the exhibition match would be in line with the Samjhota Cup and aimed at promoting ties between the two countries.

They said the event is being held at an appropriate time when the current players are engaged in a home series and lot of heat was being generated throughout the country.

Silchar being a sports crazy township is ready to host the one-day tie in the 25,000 capacity stadium and the pitch and the outfield, they said.

The teams travel arrangement, Dubey said, is made by the Indian Airlines and most of them are scheduled to arrive here on the morning of the match.

However, for some of the veteran cricketers who are on various assignments as commentators and coaches including former Pakistan skipper Wasim Akram, the organisers are trying to be in touch for their presence in the match.

There has been huge response for the match and tickets are being sold as hot cakes, he said.

The team members who are expected to participate are the following: Kapil Dev XI: Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath, Venkatpathy Raju, Pravin Amre, Sanjeev Sarma, Vijay Dahiya, Narendra Hirwani, Samir Dighe, Vivek Razdan, Nayan Mongia, Syed Kirmani, Sadagopan Ramesh, Ajay Jadeja and Madan Lal.

Abdul Qadir XI: Abdul Qadir, Izaz Ahmed, Saed Anwar, Amir Sohail, Shoaib Mohammed, Manzur Elahi, Akram Raza, Azhar Khan, Tahir Rasheed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Waqar Yunis and Ali Zia.

Write Comments