India clubbed with Sri Lanka at 2007 World Cup

Published: Friday, April 1, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London:India have continental rivals Sri Lanka and Bangladesh besides a qualifier in their pool in the 2007 World Cup after the International Cricket Council today confirmed the seedings for the mega event.

India, who have been given the eighth seeding according to their official position in the ICC ODI Championship table on April 1, 2005, will feature in the Group 2, the ICC said in a release here.

While ICC announced the seedings for the 11 teams, the remaining five teams will ranked according to their performance in the ICC Trophy Ireland in July this year.

The 16-nation is to be played in eight venues in the Caribbean islands during February and March 2007.

Holders and top seed Australia will be based in St Kitts and Nevis. India's group will be hosted by Trinidad and Tobago while England will play its group games in St Lucia.

Host nation West Indies will begin its campaign in Jamaica.

The teams, split into four groups of four, will play a round robin group stage, with the top two teams from each group progressing to the Super Eights stage.

In the Super Eights, each team will play against every other team it has not already played.

The result of the game between the two leading teams in the group stage will be carried forward. The top four teams at the end of the Super Eights will qualify for the semi-finals.

Read more about: news, london, thatscricketcom, april 1
Write Comments