Big-time cricket beckons small-time umpires

Published: Friday, April 8, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London:Non-Test country umpires were given a chance of stepping up to the elite arena when the International Cricket Council appointed its first ever umpires panel from Associate and Affiliate countries.

Ten umpires from Bermuda, Denmark, Fiji, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Kenya, Nepal, Scotland and Singapore could win promotion to the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy and ICC Cricket World Cup.

ICC global development manager Matthew Kennedy Friday said: "It is important that we target officials as well as players as part of the ICC Development Program as they are a vital part of the game."

"I hope that it will inspire them to work with other umpires in their respective regions to raise the overall standard of umpiring in the developing cricket world."

The new panel is part of the ICC's commitment to raising standards of decision-making in international cricket and opens up the way to top level umpiring for officials from the 82 Associate and Affiliate Member countries.

Three years ago the ICC set up the Emirates Elite Panel of Umpires as an independent panel for Test match and One-day International cricket.

Inaugural ICC Associate and Affiliate Umpires Panel: Trevor Henry (Ireland), Roger Dill (Bermuda), Subash Modi (Kenya), Sarika Siva Prasad (Singapore), Buddi Bahadur Pradhan (Nepal), Hameed Shahul (Indonesia), Paul Baldwin (Germany), Tony Cooper (Fiji), Niels Bagh (Denmark), John Thallon (Scotland)

Write Comments