Pawar, Shetty elected unopposed

Published: Thursday, April 21, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar was today declared elected unopposed along with Ratnakar Shetty for the posts of President and Treasurer respectively of the Mumbai Cricket Association whose elections are due on April 27.

The nominations for elections closed today. Pawar got re-elected for another two-year term as the MCA President while Shetty, who was its joint secretary for a long time, was also declared elected unopposed to the treasurer's post, MCA sources said.

Shetty was the joint secretary of the Indian Cricket Board too before he was unseated in the last elections by Cricket Association of Bengal's Gautam Dasgupta.

There would be contests for all other posts in the MCA with former Indian captains Dilip Vengsarkar and Nari Contractor having filed nominations for the two vice presidents' posts along with current incumbent Ravi Sawant.

Former Test cricketer and current joint secretary Lalchand Rajput is also seeking re-election for the post along with his group candidate Ramesh Kosambia.

Opposing them would be former joint secretary Praveen Barve, under a cloud following searches at his residence by Central Bureau of Investigation two weeks ago, Vilas Godbole and Ravi Mandrekar.

Contrary to speculations in the media, Maharashtra Chief Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh did not file his nomination and would be a voter representing Mazgaon Cricket Club in the elections. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 23, the sources added.

Write Comments