Gavaskar, Shastri named in coach selection panel

Published: Friday, May 6, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:The Cricket Board today appointed a six-member committee headed by its President Ranbir Singh Mahendra to select a new coach for the national team.

Former Board President Jagmohan Dalmiya, Sunil Gavaskar, S Venkatraghavan and Ravi Shastri were the other members of the committee which will have Secretary S K Nair as its convenor, Mahendra told PTI here.

Mahendra said the first meeting of the committee will be held in Kolkata on Sunday.

BCCI was looking to appoint a coach after New Zealander John Wright relinquished his post three weeks back, following India's home series against Pakistan.

Mahendra said the committee will shortlist the candidates and recommend the name of the coach and a final decision will be taken by the BCCI's Working Committee which is likely to meet later this month.

Mahendra said that the committee will be entrusted with the task of carrying out the entire procedure for appointing a new coach.

Although the Board has not disclosed the names of the candidates, it is learnt that former Australian cricketers Dean Jones, Greg Chappell and Tom Moody are among those interested for the post.

Write Comments