Aussies eves name rookies for Ashes series

Published: Wednesday, June 15, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:Selectors rung two changes in world champions Australia eves side inducting youngsters Kirsten Pike and Sarah Edwards in the 14-member squad for the upcoming Ashes Series beginning in August.

The duo replaces Melanie Jones and Louise Broadfoot, both of whom were members of the 2005 World Cup winning squad.

The Southern Stars would play two Tests and five One-day Internationals and a Twenty20 fixture during the much-anticipated tour.

Australia will also play three One-dayers against Ireland before its series with England.

The team departs for England in late July.

It may be noted that Australia eves have not lost a Ashes Series since 1963 and last retained the coveted trophy in 2002-03 with a 1-0 victory on home soil.

Squad: Belinda Clark (capt), Karen Rolton (vc), Alex Blackwell, Kate Blackwell, Sarah Edwards, Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Julie Hayes, Lisa Keightley, Emma Liddell, Shelley Nitschke, Kirsten Pike, Julia Price, Clea Smith, Lisa Sthalekar.

Write Comments