Eight teams to play ICC trophy held on April 2006

Published: Friday, August 5, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:The 2006 International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy, to be held in India, has been reduced to eight teams, instead of 12, to make the Limited-overs tournament more competitive, the ICC said on Thursday.

The ICC has taken note of criticism that the 2004 event in England featured many one-sided matches due to the enlarged field of 12, which included non-Test-playing nations such as Kenya and the United States.

The Champions Trophy, the second biggest tournament after the World Cup, will now have eight teams split into two groups of four with the top two from each group advancing to the semi-finals.

The eight teams will comprise the top six nations in the ICC one-day table as on April 1, 2006 plus two sides drawn from a qualifying round just prior to the main tournament in October. The qualifying round will be contested on a Round-robin basis by teams placed 7-10 in the ICC table.

The ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed said in a statement, the new format would be highly competitive for all participating teams. "After the last Champions Trophy, we sought the opinions of a wide range of stakeholders and conducted a thorough review of the tournaments structure," Speed said. "The new format has addressed the main flaws of the previous 12-team system and we now look forward to an exciting major international event in India," he added.

If the current One-day table had been taken into account, hosts India would not have gained a direct entry due to their seventh place in the rankings.

The present top six are Australia (137 points), Sri Lanka (117), New Zealand (116), South Africa (112), Pakistan (112) and England (106). The next four in the list are India (97), West Indies (95), Zimbabwe (50) and Kenya (26).

Test nation Bangladesh, placed 11th on 12 points, need major successes over the next nine months to even enter the qualifying round.

The tournament will be held across India just five months before the World Cup opens in the Caribbean in February 2007.

Write Comments