Star-studded Bradman XI crashes to 33 run defeat

Published: Saturday, August 20, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:Star-studded Bradman World XI crashed to a 33-run defeat at the hands of Karnataka State Cricket Association XI in a league match of the Unibic 20-20Bradman Cup tournament at M Chinnaswamy Stadium here today.

Sent into bat, the home side made 137 for eight wickets in their 20 overs with man-of-the-match Bharath Chipli top-scoring with a 40-ball 48 with six fours and one six.

Skipper Barrington Rowland chipped in with 22 and B Akhil contributed 18.

Upul Chandana picked up two wickets for the Bradman XI, while Mohammed Sami, Javagal Srinath and Shoaib Malik secured one each.

Bradman XI put up an uninspired run chase in the face of some splendid bowling by C Raghavendra and R Vinay Kumar who scalped three wickets apiece to put their side on top.

A good start eluded Bradman XI as they were reduced to 40 for the loss of four wickets in the eighth over. Russel Arnold (28), Shoaib Malik (21) and R Kaluwitharana (12) enabled them to cross the three digit mark.

They were all out for 104 in 17.5 overs.

Brief scores: KSCA XI 137 for eight in 20 overs (Chipli 48, Rowland 22, Akhil 18; Chandana 2/23, Sami 1/19, Srinath 1/21, Malik 1/32) vs Bradman World XI 104 all out in 17.5 overs (Arnold 28, Malik 21, Kaluwitharana 12; Raghavendra 3/15, Vinay Kumar 3/22, Akhil 2/16).


Cricket Association of Bengal salvaged some pride as they beat New South Wales by 23 runs in their last league fixture.

In the inconsequential match -- as Air India are already through to the final from Group B having defeated these two teams yesterday -- CAB posted 134 for five in 20 overs, on theback of fine batting by Manoj Tiwary who made 55 and Subhomoy Das who hit 45.

Man-of-the-match Tiwary smashed five fours and one six in his 46-ball innings, while Das' breezy knock came in 27 balls with the help of six boundaries and one six. Rohan Gavaskar came up with 21.

NSW faltered in their run-chase and their innings folded up in 19.1 overs for 111.

Sourasish Lahiri was pick of the CAB bowlers taking four wickets for 11 runs while Abhishek Jhunjhunwala accounted for three.

Brief scores: CAB 134 for five in 20 overs (Tiwary 55, Das 45, Gavaskar 21; Jarrad Burke 2/30, Doug Bollinger 1/9, Jason Krejza 1/28, M Cameron 1/30) vs New South Wales 111 all out in 19.1 overs (Burke 24, Matthew Phelps 24, Murray Creed 20; Lahiri 4/11, Jhunjhunwala 3/26, Tiwary 1/8, Anirban Gup

Write Comments