Dravid in running for ~~Player of the Year~~ award

Published: Wednesday, September 14, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Indian cricket's 'Mr Reliable' Rahul Dravid is in the running for the Hyundai ICC Player of the Year' award for the second year running after being crowned as the Best Cricketer in 2004, the inaugural year of the annual awards.

Dravid is the lone Indian name figuring in the candidates list announced here today by the ICC at a function in which the trophy to go with the various awards was unveiled by swashbuckling One-day 'keeper-batsman' Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Dravid, who also won the 2004 Test Player of the Year award, to be declared and present at Sydney on October 11, is in the race for this year's coveted award with six other cricketers.

The others in the running are exciting England all rounder Andrew Flintoff, Pakistan captain Inzaman ul Haq, Australian wicket keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist, South African all rounder Jaques Kallis, veteran Australian speedster Glenn McGrath and Aussie captain Ricky Ponting.

Other Indians who are in contention for the annual awards in two other categories are Anil Kumble, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh (Test Player of the Year award), Gautam Gambhir and Dinesh Kaarthick (Emerging Player of the Year).

Reflecting India's deep slide in the one-day format, no Indian, barring Dravid, has found a place in the long One-Day International Player of the Year nominees list (18 in all).

An ICC Awards Selection Panel chaired by India's Sunil Gavaskar and comprising Sir Richard Hadlee (New Zealand), Courtney Walsh (West Indies), Rodney Marsh (Australia) and David Gower (England) had finalised the list.

Apart from the individual honours, there would be team awards too, The ICC Team of the Year, to be decided by the five-man awards selection panel headed by Gavaskar, and the Spirit of Cricket Award, to be presented to one international team determined by the captains and match referees.

Australia and New Zealand had won the respective team honours last year.

The period for which the awards have been considered is from August one, 2004 to July 31, 2005, it was announced by ICC representative Jamie Stewart at a media conference here.

The list of awards nominees are as follows:

Player of the Year (7): Rahul Dravid (Ind), Andrew Flintoff (Eng), Adam Gilchrist (Aus), Inzamam ul Haq (Pak), Jacques Kallis (SA), Glenn McGrath and Ricky Ponting (both Aus).

Test Player of the Year (15): Shivnarine Chanderpaul (Windies), Adam Gilchrist (Aus), Inzamam, Kallis, Younis Khan (Pak), Brian Lara (Windies), Damien Martyn (Aus), Anil Kumble (Ind), McGrath, Ponting, Danish Kaneria (Pak), Kumar Sangakkara (Lanka), Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh (both Ind) and Shane Warne (Aus).

One Day International Player of the Year (18): Dravid, Flintoff, Herschelle Gibbs (SA), Gilchrist, Inzamam, Brett Lee (Aus), McGrath, Justine Kemp (SAS), Shoaib Malik (Pak), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Ponting, Sangakkara, Graeme Smith (SA), Andrew Symonds (Aus), Marcus Trescothick (Eng), Chaminda Vaas (Lanka) and Yousuf Youhana (Pak).

Emerging Player of the Year: Ian Bell (Eng), Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Kaarthick (both Ind), Pietersen, M Rana (Bangla) and A B De Villiers (SA).

Write Comments