WI sends invitations to players for Aus tour

Published: Thursday, September 15, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Trinidad:The West Indies cricket selectors have asked 30 players to make themselves available for the forthcoming tour to Australia. The letters of invitation were accompanied by the draft match/tour contract that the players would be required to sign if selected.

The players accepting the invitation are required to sign the letter and return it to the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) by September 19.

But the long-running dispute between a number of the players and the WICB remains unresolved, and sources have told that there has been little attempt on the board's part to find a solution. This means that yet again there is the possibility of key players refusing to sign the tour contracts.

The squad will assemble on September 24 in Barbados for training and they will then play a four-day game starting on September 27. "The players would have had no other cricket apart from One-day tournaments including the President's Cup prior to their departure for the Test series," Tony Howard, the team manager explained. "Therefore that practice game is very necessary to get them in tune for what's ahead."

Brian Lara, Chris Gayle and Ramnaresh Sarwan were among the 10 players who were axed from the tour of Sri Lanka because of a contract dispute with the board.

Six Trinidad and Tobago cricketers, including Brian Lara, Dwayne Bravo, Daren Ganga, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin and Dave Mohammed have been included in the squad. Also in the 30 invited were Jermaine Lawson, who was recently given the go-ahead to bowl in international cricket, and Carlton Baugh Jr, the young wicketkeeper, Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels.

The tour commences with a four-day match against a Queensland XI, before the first match of the three-Test series begins on November 3.

West Indies squad :Omari Banks, Carlton Baugh, Tino Best, Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo, Deighton Butler, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Narsingh Deonarine, Fidel Edwards, Daren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Sylvester Joseph, Brian Lara, Jermaine Lawson, Xavier Marshall, Dave Mohammed, Runako Morton, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Dwight Washington, Devon Smith, Dwayne Smith and Jerome Taylor.

Write Comments