Adam Gilchrist leads shortlist for ICC awards

Published: Thursday, September 29, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Adam Gilchrist has been shortlisted for three major International Cricket Council (ICC) awards, it was announced here.

Gilchrist, 33, is the only player nominated in three categories -- One-Day Player of the Year, Test Player of the Year and Player of the Year.

The Australian, who struggled in the recent Ashes series in England, has so far scored 4,633 runs in 73 Tests and 7,362 runs in 219 one-dayers.

The nominees were named on their performances between August 1, 2004 to July 31 this year.

The annual ICC awards will be presented in Sydney on October 11 during the Super Series between world champions Australia and World XI.

England's Ashes star Andrew Flintoff is in the reckoning for the Player of the Year and One-Day Player of the Year awards.

Pakistan middle-order batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq also figures in two categories -- Player of the Year and Test Player of the Year.

Wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik is the only Indian in the fray.

He is one of the five players in the 'Emerging Player of the Year' category along with England's Kevin Pietersen, Bangladesh's Aftab Ahmed, South African A. B. de Villiers and England's Ian Bell.

The Indian wicketkeeper-batsman has figured in 10 Tests since making his debut against Australia at home last year.

India dominated last year's awards. Middle-order batsman Rahul Dravid was named both Player of the Year and Test Player of the Year, while paceman Irfan Pathan was adjudged the Emerging Player of the Year.

Following players have been shortlisted:

Emerging Player of the Year:

Aftab Ahmed (BAN), Ian Bell (ENG), Dinesh Karthik (IND), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), A. B. de Villiers (RSA).

One-Day Player of the Year:

Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Brett Lee (AUS), Andrew Symmonds (AUS).

Test Player of the Year:

Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Glenn McGrath (AUS), Shane Warne (AUS), Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK), Jacques Kallis (RSA)

Player of the Year:

Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Glenn McGrath (AUS), Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK), Jacques Kallis (RSA).

Write Comments